Sunday, July 12, 2015

What-to-Read-Next #25


Title: Damage Done
Author: Amanda Panitch
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Date: July 21st, 2015

Goodreads Blurb:
22 minutes separate Julia Vann’s before and after.


Before: Julia had a twin brother, a boyfriend, and a best friend.

After: she had a new identity a new hometown, and memories of those twenty-two minutes that refuse to come into focus. At least, that’s what she tells the police.


Now that she’s Lucy Black, she’s able to begin again. She’s even getting used to the empty bedroom where her brother should be. And her fresh start has attracted the attention of one of the hottest guys in school, a boy who will do anything to protect her. But when someone much more dangerous also takes notice, Lucy’s forced to confront the dark secrets she thought were safely left behind.

One thing is clear: The damage done can never be erased. It’s only just beginning. . . . 

Title: The Fading Dusk (Smoke and Mirrors #1)
Author: Melissa Giorgio
Date: July 21st, 2015

Goodreads Blurb:
In the gritty city of Dusk, seventeen-year-old Irina makes her living as the street magician Bantheir’s assistant. The job isn’t glamorous, but she loves the crowds, the shows, and most of all, the illusion of magic. But Irina’s world is shattered the night she is arrested and charged as Bantheir’s accomplice to murder – murder by magic.

Real magic, the kind that’s been forbidden since the old wars.

Irina finds the idea of flashy showman Bantheir using actual magic to kill someone laughable, but she’s the only one who sees how ridiculous the claim is. But how can she convince everyone Bantheir is innocent when they’ve already made up their minds? Desperate, Irina must decide who she can trust to help her win her freedom. Is the surly, handsome Captain Leonid telling the truth when she says he believes Irina is innocent, or is he ust using her to get to Bantheir? What about Aden, the sweet soldier and longtime fan of Irina’s who claims he’s on her side?

Irina said she wanted to know the truth, but when she stumbles across a dark secret that changes everything, will she be strong enough to survive? 


Title: Pretending to be Erica
Author: Michelle Painchaud
Publisher: Viking books for Young Readers
Date: July 21st, 2015

Goodreads Blurb:
Seventeen-year-old Violet’s entire life has revolved around one thing: become Erica Silverman, an heiress kidnapped at age five and never seen again. Violet’s father, the best con man in Las Vegas, has a plan, chilling in its very specific precision. Violet shares a blood type with Erica; soon, thanks to surgery and blackmail, she has the same face, body, and DNA. She knows every detail of the Silvermans’ lives, as well as the PTSD she will have to fake around them. And then, when the time is right, she “reappears” – Erica Silverman, brought home by some kind of miracle. But she is also Violet, and she has a job: Stay long enough to steal the Silverman Painting, an Old Master legendary in the Vegas crime world Walking a razor’s edge, calculating ever decision, not sure sometimes who she is or what she is doing it for, Violet is an unforgettable heroine, and ‘Pretending to be Erica’ is a killer debut.  

No comments :

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...